Phoenix, AZ—Governor Jan Brewer signed into law a significant measure of liberty for all law-abiding citizens. Carrying a concealed weapon is no longer a crime. No permits are required but the gun-packing people must not be convicted felons, mental defects or drug addicts. Those convicted of domestic violence are also prohibited. To enjoy the new liberty you must be at least 21 years of age. I call it a "new" liberty since it has been gone so long.
Arizona now joins Vermont and Alaska as states that have fully legalized self-defense.
Those Arizonans that wish to carry their weapons in the 40 or so states that recognize Arizona CCW permits should keep renewing theirs. Also the display of the CCW permits during police traffic stops will be appreciated by police officers.
The current process by the Department of public safety to issue CCW permits will continue for those wishing to obtain them.
Just because the training requirement has been discontinued does not mean training is not important. The training can save lives and keep you out of jail. Knowing the laws and liability of the justifiable use of deadly force is very important for anyone that refuses to be a crime victim. Contact the NRA or the Arizona State Rifle Association for training referrals. The Department of Public safety has a list of training schools on their website too.
The new law takes effect 90 days after the current legislative session ends, probably putting the effective date in July or August. I don’t suspect that cops, prosecutors or the courts will want to do much with people that jump the gun on the timing of the new law.
Post a Comment